logo

历史的寄生:开王殿的故事

2015/01/21

在台南,只要随便走上几步,就会和一座庙宇相遇。无论供奉的是什么样的神明,一律层层叠叠、艳丽厚重,配以最现代的闪烁灯光,俨然是城市生活中极为活跃的所在。神明在人们的日常生活、乃至在城市空间里占据如此显赫的位置,是我在台南才有的独特感受。
不过,高雄的开王殿,却是另一番面目。
来到高雄的开王殿,是一个大太阳的上午。不远处是已经被定为“国定”古迹的中都唐荣砖窑厂。它们之间,是推平了所有建筑的荒地一片,野草长得正欢。开王殿没有台南庙宇的大场面,没有色彩艳丽的门楣,只是那么小小的敞开的一间。所有的陈列,都和如今仍在看护它的几位老人家一样,上了年纪。
知道我们要来,几位老人特意赶来。他们和高雄大学的杨老师一起,向我们介绍开王殿的历史。原来,中都唐荣砖窑厂的前身是1899年日本人在此处建立的工厂。自开办以来,凭借着爱河的运输优势和资源优势——沿岸的粘土和周围柴山提供的木材,砖窑厂生意兴盛,吸引了从澎湖和台南来的大量移民。此后,大陆解放、国民党来台,历史转移之中砖厂易主,其生产的TB砖,却销量大增,甚至供应了当时香港一批校舍的建设。热情招呼我们的老伯,也就在那时当起了砖厂的童工苦力。
伴随着砖窑厂一同出现的,便是开王殿。在那个年代,移居此地以烧砖维生、繁衍的男女老幼,不分昼夜,出卖着自己的劳力,却得不到任何医疗和生活上的保障,更没有求医问药的门路。于是,工人们用自己烧的砖,建起了开王殿,供奉上家乡来的神明。用杨老师的话说,在当时那种严酷剥削、缺医少药的情况下,开王殿不仅是他们寄托信仰的中心,更是医疗和社会保障的中心。一位阿婆从家里特意带来了开王殿当年的记录簿,里面详细记录了近百年间,此地各家求医问症、捉鬼安神的故事。某家媳妇疯癫,某家遭遇恶疾,某某人无法说话……。在记录这些症状之后,主事者写下处理之法,开药请神,无意间却也记录了一部充斥着身体和精神的高度紧张的社会生活史。阿婆一边帮我们辨认记录簿上的文字,一边不断强调,开王殿的神明如何灵验,当年吸引了远远近近的人前来的盛况。老伯则告诉我们,开王殿的神明之所以如此灵验,是因为它是移民们从大陆那里直接分出来的神,在台湾的辈分很高;此后,很多台湾庙宇里请的神,都是从开王殿分出去的,法力不够时,还是要回来请教开王殿里的神。
对于从小便没有生长于神明世界的我来说,要理解这些神明间的关系,要理解这些老人家对开王殿的信仰和情感,实在没有那么容易。不过,即便如此,狭小老旧的开王殿,和不远处耸立着砖窑厂,仍然在我的脑海里形成了一幅格外鲜明的画面。据说这座砖窑厂在建造时,引进了当时世界最先进的烧砖工艺,即便在今天看来,废弃的砖厂仍有几分气势。只是,保障和佑护整日劳作的工人,降妖伏魔、祛除疾病,使得现代的砖窑厂夜以继日生产获利的,却是这座毫不起眼、由工人们从家乡带来的神明所主持的开王殿。
显然,当年的“现代”砖窑厂,不仅寄生在高雄这一块土地的自然资源之上,寄生在工人们的勤奋劳动之上,同样也寄生在了这座供奉各路神明的“封建迷信”的开王殿之上。
不过,当政者似乎既不愿意正视这样的现代史,也毫无理解这一寄生性的现代史的能力。于是,在网页上,我读到了这样一组认定“古迹”的理由:
“1. 唐荣砖窑厂为台湾20世纪砖材生产工业之重要见证,现有建物中,八卦窑及烟囱之年代久远且工法细緻,保存相当完整。
2. 砖材为台湾地区混凝土及钢铁材料技术发展前最重要的建筑材料,工厂现存设施八卦窑及两座烟囱具有高度历史及文化意义,极具保存价值。
3. 类似砖材生产设施台湾各地区已少见,唐荣砖窑厂的规模为最大且后期又增加新式生产设备,可看出生产技术的演进。
4. 各式不同生产设备并存,具产业文化的稀有性、代表性、完整性。
5. 就产业观点而言,足以为高雄市工业化进程的重要见证,其提供建筑材料之产业意义,也具有见证台湾工业及经济发展进步的历史价值及意义。”
看来,佯装对历史保持敬意的当政者,实际想要表达的,不过是对“经济”的重视和对“现代”的敬仰。在他们眼中,历史之所以有价值,只是因为它可以讲述一个“经济起飞”和“技术演进”的现代故事;却完全忽略了在这块土地上发生的演进和腾飞,有过什么样的寄生生活。
对今天来说,遗忘、删除或否认这一寄生性的现代史,依旧是世界各地发展主义者的通病。于是,伴随着高雄新一轮的土地开发和爱河沿岸高档住宅的兴建,中都唐荣砖窑厂作为“现代”的化身,被保留了下来,而以开王殿为代表的支撑着砖窑厂生产的生活村落,却被铲除一空。 *1
高桥哲哉在讨论福岛问题时,曾如此定义“牺牲的体系”:“在牺牲的体系中,某些人的利益是从牺牲他者的生活(生命、健康、日常、财产、尊严、希望等)之中产生并维持下去的。没有被牺牲者的牺牲,要求牺牲的那方不可能产生利益,也不可能维持利益。但这个牺牲通常不是被隐蔽起来,就是作为一个共同体(国家、国民、社会、企业等)的‘尊贵之牺牲’而被美化,或正当化。”*2
如果说,高桥哲哉讨论的重点在于,牺牲如何在日本文化中以共同体的名义被正当化和崇高化的话,那么对我来说,一个更感兴趣的问题在于,对于那些经历过各式殖民而发展起来的亚洲国家和地区来说,为特殊的发展观所要求的牺牲体系,究竟是如何可能被继续隐藏起来的?如果说对西方而言,这一牺牲体系更多的是在“黑暗的心”或东方主义中被隐约体会的话,那么,对亚洲国家或地区的人们来说,赤裸裸的牺牲,殖民者的寄生,是再鲜活不过的历史经验,足以用来抵抗牺牲体系的说辞,挣脱单纯的现代幻想。然而,实际的情况,并非如此。经历过殖民的亚洲各国,看起来对此并无特殊的免疫力,甚至于用经济主义的话语去改写历史经验,反而成了这个时代的主流。于是,被牺牲的历史经验究竟是如何被一系列文化层面的经济主义操作遮掩起来的?以至于接受和无视这一牺牲/寄生的感觉结构就此养成?对那些自认为充满正义感的现代都市人来说,类似结构的牺牲体系也就变得和他们的道德感并存不悖?
就此而言,开王殿的故事或许提供了些许的答案。那就是,由大大小小的政府主导的对现代历史的想象和教育,正对此负有不可推卸的责任。如果所谓现代发展的“遗迹”,总是保留以“中都唐荣砖窑厂”为象征的经济进步,而删除以“开王殿”为象征的实质上支撑着这一经济进步的社会生活,那么,无需牺牲的进步,或自我圆满的现代,也就成了通过历史教育,最深入人心的理解发展的方式。而以此为基础的发展想象,自然成为今天城市生活的基石。正是经由将历史肢解为局部的经济进步的“历史教育”,人们再也看不到实际存在的牺牲/寄生,进而天真或犬儒地以为,现代历史可以抛开牺牲的人群、寄生的土壤,自我成型。
临行前,同行者打趣说:如果开王殿的神明果真如此厉害,那么怎么就不能保佑自己不被高雄市政府的开发计划铲平呢?这让我想到那位从小就在砖窑厂卖苦力的老伯对“古迹”保护工作的评论。他说,修缮工作将熟知工厂的老人们排斥在外,又完全没懂工厂的建造结构,表面上看起来不错的修复加固,实际上不过是加重了建筑的负担,让它更容易倒塌罢了。
看来,无论是在历史的哪一个片段之中,砖窑厂和开王殿始终都是一个寄生者和被寄生者的整体组合。当砖窑厂成了“国定古迹”时,开王殿和热爱它的老人们也就必须被保存和继承下来。如果忽视这一整体性,忽视对被寄生者的尊重和理解,沉溺在现代自我形成的幻想中,那么,现代“古迹”轰然倒塌的一天就不会太遥远。
或许,这便是神明的威力,或者说,历史的审判。

2014/10/27 上海

  1. 2004年高雄市政府地政处《中都地区开发案可行性评估》,指出中都地区可以在爱河沿线美化后,与对岸的美术馆园区结合成高级住宅区;之后中都地区开发工程于2009年开始动工,2010年4月中都湿地公园也开始动工,使得中都地区自1894年开始形成的产业聚落地景瓦解消失。
  2. 高桥哲哉:《牺牲的体系 福岛 冲绳》,李依真译,第36页,台北:联经出版公司2014年6月。

logo

A Historical Parasite: A Story of Kaiwang Temple

post: 2015/01/21

In Tainan, one can easily find a temple within a few steps. No matter what deities they have, all those temples are extremely magnificent and splendid, with various modern colorful lights, and are the most vigorous places in a city. I can only find this in Tainan – faiths play such important roles in people’s daily lives, and even in a city.

But Kaiwang Temple in Kaohsiung is another story.

We arrived at Kaiwang Temple in Kaohsiung on a sunny morning. A “national” historic site, Former Tangrong Brick Kiln, was near the temple. Between the two buildings was a wasteland with all buildings there being demolished and removed, and wild plants found it was a paradise for them to grow freely. Kaiwang Temple did not have an impressive appearance like temples in Tainan did. It did not have a colorful gate, but only a small opened entrance leading to a small hall. All objects in the temple were old, like old people who willingly stayed there to guard it.

Knowing we would visit the temple, several old people and Professor Yang of National University of Kaohsiung welcomed us there and introduced the history of Kaiwang Temple to us. Former Tangrong Brick Kiln was built in 1899 by Japanese. With Love River’s advantages of convenient transportation and rich natural resources of clay from the riverside and wood from Chaishan, the kiln was a boom to attract numerous immigrants from Penghu and Tainan. Later, with the establishment of the People’s Republic of China and KMT government moving to Taiwan, the owner of the kiln was changed. But the demand of its bricks was increasing rapidly. The kiln even supplied people in Hong Kong to build several schools. One old man who welcomed us warmly was a child labor in the kiln then.

Kaiwang Temple was built with the kiln. At that time, people who moved to this place and earned their living by making bricks worked around the clock without any medical care or protection. They did not have a doctor. Therefore, workers built Kaiwang temple with bricks they made and started to worship their gods from their hometown. Professor Yang said that in those harsh days, without any doctor nor any medicine, Kaiwang Temple was not only people’s center of religion, but also their sanctum of cure and protection. An old woman brought a record book of Kaiwang Temple in that time from her home. Inside the book, numerous stories of asking helps from the gods during almost hundred years were recorded in detail – someone’s wife lost her mind, someone was sick seriously or someone suddenly could not speak… And after descriptions of illnesses, solutions were wrote by the host of the temple. Unintentionally, these records of asking gods for cures were also a history record of extremely hard days of people with limited resources for both their bodies and minds. The old woman helped us in identifying texts on the book, and she kept telling us that how powerful those gods in Kaiwang Temple were, and how many people were attracted to worship them. The old man welcomed us said that the reason behind the gods’ great power was because they were directly moved from mainland China to here by immigrants, and were in higher ranks among gods in Taiwan. Many deities of other temples were replicated from Kaiwang Temple, and staff members of those temples would come back to Kaiwang Temple to find solutions if their replicated gods did not have enough powers.

As someone who had not grown up with any form of divinity, I could not easily understand relationships among these gods and emotions or feelings of these old people toward Kaiwang Temple. Even so, the old and small Kaiwang Temple and the kiln near the temple still formed a vivid picture in my mind. It was said that when the kiln had been built, the most advanced technology of making bricks of that time was also introduced. The forsaken kiln still looked somehow majestic. Yet, via gods from worker’s hometown, it was this small and old Kaiwang Temple that protected, blessed, purified and cured those hard-working workers to keep the kiln smoothly producing bricks to make profits.

It was obvious that at that time, this “modern” kiln was a parasitic figure on Kaohsiung’s natural resources, efforts of workers, and Kaiwang Temple with a variety of its “superstitious and out-of-date” gods.

However, people in power do not, and cannot seem to understand this parasitic aspect in modern history. I read these reasons to certify the kiln being a “historic site” on a website:

“1. Former Tangrong Brick Kiln is an important example of brick production of Taiwan in 20th century. Its well-kept Hoffmann kiln and chimneys are historic and exquisite.

2. Bricks had been the most important building material before technologies of cement, steel and iron were developed. The kiln’s existing Hoffmann kiln and two chimneys are worth preservation because of its high historical and cultural values.

3. Similar brick producing facilities are rare in Taiwan. Former Tangrong Brick Kiln is the biggest kiln in Taiwan. Several brick producing facilities were added in the kiln during its later period, and thus a track of developed technologies was showed.

4. With its various producing facilities, Former Tangrong Brick Kiln has its unique, representative and comprehensive values in presenting cultures of an industry.

5. From an aspect of industry, Former Tangrong Brick Kiln is important in presenting developments of industries of Kaohsiung. As a part of building material producing facility, it also plays an important role to show its historical value and meaning in the developments of Taiwan’s industries and economy.”

It seems that authorities who camouflage themselves to be respectful to the history are actually ones that only see and appreciate “economic” and “modern” issues. In their eyes, a valuable history has to describe a modern fairy tale of “an economic takeoff” or “a developed technology.” And they completely ignore what parasitic lives may have occurred in this land, with all its development and glory.

Even today, forsaking, deleting or denying those parasitic modern history is still a common idea of developmentalists around the world. Therefore, with a new wave of land developments and newly built expensive houses on the riverside of Love River, Former Tangrong Brick Kiln was preserved as an embodiment of “being modern,” but the village surrounding Kaiwang Temple which supported kiln’s production was removed.1

When Takahashi Tetsuya discussing the Fukusima disaster, he define “a system of sacrifice” as below: “In a system of sacrifice, some people sacrifice other people’s lives (life, health, daily routines, properties, dignities, hopes, etc.) and produce profits from doing so. Without sacrifice of sacrificial victims, ones that seek sacrifices cannot have nor maintain any profit. However, this form of sacrifice is usually hidden, legitimized or glorified as a “noble sacrifice” for a community (of nation, people, society, company, etc.).”2

If Takahashi Tetsuya’s point is to describe how the sacrifices are legitimized and glorified under the name of community in Japanese culture, then a more interesting part to me is: how systems of sacrifice for special ideas of development continue to hide themselves in Asian countries and areas which have been through various forms of colonialism and developed themselves? If, to Western people, this system of sacrifice can be slightly perceived more in a “heart of darkness” or in orientalism, then, to people in Asian countries and areas, sacrifices and parasitic colonizers are the most powerful experiences to resist discourses of systems of sacrifice and escape from simpleminded modern delusion. However, what actually happened is not like this. Asian countries which have been through colonization do not seem to have any special invulnerability for it, instead, they tend to alter history via the use of economism. Thus I wonder: how a sacrificed history is hidden by a series of manipulations of cultural aspects of economism? How the ideological structure of accepting or ignoring this sacrifice/parasite is formed? To those modernized urban people who think themselves being just, how could they easily accept such systems of sacrifice of similar structures with their high moral standards?

To answer those questions, the story of Kaiwang Temple seems to provide a solution: all imaginations and education toward modern history by the government should be responsible for those issues. If so-called “historic sites” that present modern developments are economic growth symbols like “Former Tangrong Brick Kiln” and needed to be preserved, while social lives that actually hold this economic growth like “Kaiwang Temple” have to be deleted, then a growth without any sacrifice or a self-explained modernity becomes a way for people to interpret concepts of developments via historical education. In such a way, people cannot see sacrifice/parasite anymore, and naively or arrogantly think that modern history is able to cut itself from sacrificed victims of sacrifices or soils of parasites to finish its forming progress.

Before we left, one of our members humorously said: “If gods in Kaiwang Temple are that powerful, how come they cannot protect the temple form being removed by Kaohsiung City Government and its development plan?” Which reminded me of what that old man who had worked in the kiln since he was a child commented on preservation works toward “historic sites.” He said that all repair works excluded old people who knew the kiln well from joining in the project, and they knew nothing about the structure of the kiln. It might seemed to be an excellent enhancement. But in fact, all they did was to increase burdens to the building, and made it easier to collapse.

So it seems that no matter in what period of the history, the kiln and Kaiwang Temple are a combination of a parasite and a host. If the kiln is considered as a “national historic site,” Kaiwang Temple and old people who love it should also be kept and preserved. If we keep ignoring its wholeness, disregarding respect and understanding toward hosts, and continue being possessed with self-formed modern delusions, then the day that all modern “historic sites” collapse will not be far.

Maybe this is a power of gods. Or one could say, this is a judgment from the history itself.

2014/10/27 Shanghai